CEF 2012


Program Schedule
Local Transport
Social Events
Plenary Speakers
Program Committee
Student Contest

SCE Home Page










Graduate Student Paper Contest



We are very pleased to introduce the 2012 contest finalists.  Awards will be presented at the Plenary Session on Wednesday, June 27, 2012.


Charles Brendon, University of Oxford

"Applying Perturbation Analysis to Dynamic Optimal Tax Problems"


Stephen Sacht and Tae-Seok Jang, Christian-Albrechts-Universitšt zu Kiel

"Identification of Animal Spirits in a Bounded Rationality Model: An Application to the Euro Area"


Petr Sedlacek, Universiteit van Amsterdam

"Firm Age, Business Cycles and Aggregate Labor Market Dynamics"


-  -  -  -  -


The Society for Computational Economics is pleased to announce its annual contest for outstanding graduate student papers.


We are soliciting student papers with a strong computational component, in any branch of economics, finance, and decision making, for the award of the SCE 2012 Student Prize.


Download a poster promoting the student contest here:  POSTER


The recipient(s) of the student prize will receive a cash award and will be invited to the conference, according to the rules below:


1.  A paper is eligible for the prize if all its authors are either students at the time of the conference or have completed their Ph.D. not earlier than November 1, 2011.

2.  Up to three finalists will be short-listed for the prize.  The finalists will be invited to the conference and the conference banquet, with the conference and banquet fees waived.  Their papers will be included in the conference program.

3.  Finalists must present their papers at the conference and attend the award ceremony.  Not doing so eliminates them ipso facto.

4.  The student prize will be awarded to zero, one, two or three finalists:

one winner: 1500 euros
two winners: 1250 euros each
three winners: 1000 euros each

5.  The other finalists will each receive a certificate honoring their work and 750 euros.

6.  All finalists agree to have their picture taken and used for publicity, if any, for future awards.  Mention must be made of the student prize in any publication directly related to the paper they submitted.


Deadlines and contest entry procedures:


Papers and proof of eligibility must be submitted before March 15, 2012, midnight, by email to: christophe.deissenberg@univmed.fr with cc: to cef2012@simplemeetings.com.


The subject line of the email MUST be "CEF studentprize".  The paper MUST be in .PDF format.  The PDF file MUST be named "CEF2012_familyname of the corresponding author".


While this is not required, we strongly suggest that the contestants comply with all the conference requirements.  This includes submitting an abstract to Conference Maker by January 31, 2012 and registering to attend the conference by the stated deadlines.  Those who become a contest finalist will be promptly and fully refunded for the registration fee.  The finalists will be informed by April 15, 2012.


2011 Contest Finalists, L to R: Damian Pierri, University of Buenos Aires & University of San Andres (finalist); Jasmina Arifovic, Simon Fraser University (review committee/award presenter); Joseph Vavra, Yale University (winner); Co-Pierre Georg, Friedrich-Schiller-University Jena (finalist).


Contest entry deadline is March 15, 2012.


St. Nicholas' Church

© 2012 Society for Computational Economics & Simple Meetings

Last updated: June 17, 2012