Computational economics explores the intersection of economics and computation. These areas include agent-based computational modeling, computational econometrics and statistics, computational finance, computational modeling of dynamic macroeconomic systems, computational tools for the design of automated Internet markets, programming tools specifically designed for computational economics, and pedagogical tools for the teaching of computational economics. Some of these areas are unique to computational economics, while others extend traditional areas of economics to new areas through computational techniques.

Much of our activity comes from our annual meeting. It is held in the summer and we typically alternate the location between North America and Europe.

The SCE is a member of the Allied Social Science Association (ASSA).

Graduate Student Contest

The David Kendrick Prize

    This award is given on an irregular basis to those individuals who have who stood out for their contributions to the field.

    The David A. Kendrick Distinguished Service Award in 2015 is awarded to Michel Juillard for his outstanding contributions to the field of Computational Macroeconomics, in particular for the development of efficient algorithms for the solution of nonlinear dynamic macroeconomic models.

    This includes the development of DYNARE, a software package to make such algorithms, and computational software more generally, accessible to the economics profession. In particular, DYNARE can solve dynamic models with rational expectations, forward looking variables and heterogeneous agents, but can also flexibly be used to solve dynamic models with learning.

    Various public bodies (central banks, ministries of economics and finance, international organisations) and private financial institutions use DYNARE for performing policy analysis and as a support tool for forecasting. In the academic world, DYNARE is widely used for research and teaching purposes in postgraduate macroeconomic courses.

    Michel is a former Edtior of the Journal of Economic Dynamics and Control and a stimulating leader and former president of the Society of Computational Economics.

    Previous Winners

Tools For Computational Economists

    There are many sites of use on the Internet for those interested in computational economics. These include links to program libraries and software.

Details About The Society

    The society was founded in 1995 and is a 501(c)3 organization. Our major activity is our annual conference; it typically draws 300-400 participants. The president of the Society is Thomas Lubik and the past presidents are Jasmina Arifovic, Cars Hommes, Michel Juillard, Robert J. Tetlow, Carl Chiarella, Manfred Gilli, Stephen Turnovsky, Berç Rustem, Hans Amman, Ken Judd, and David Kendrick. Those interested in membership in the Society should contact Bill Goffe, the Secretary-Treasurer. The Advisory Council consists of the officers, the editors of the journals, and some elected and appointed members. The By-Laws formally describe the Society and conference organizers should read the guidelines for our conferences. Finally, we offer some job listings in computational economics.

Membership Benefits and Costs

    Members of the Society for Computational Economics are eligible for reduced rate subscriptions to Macroeconomic Dynamics. Members are also automatically added to the "scelist" electronic mailing list (non-members are welcomed to the list too). There is also a web page where one can sign up.

    Dues are $10 a year. You can pay by check or by PayPal:

    If you have questions, please contact Bill Goffe, the Secretary-Treasurer of the Society.